Recently Viewed Items

Clear this list
Index | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |


    AWG (American Wire Gauge)

    A standardized wire gauge system used for referring to the diameter of an electrically conducting wire and its current-carrying capacity. As the number increases, the diameter of the wire decreases; for example, a very large wire would be listed as AWG 0. The more fine a wire is, the more times it is pulled through a drawing die, a plate of hardened steel with multiple holes of varying sizes that strip down the diameter of the wire. Each of these AWG wires is a single, solid, round conductor, and its current-carrying capacity is determined by its total cross-sectional area.




    A Central Processing Unit (CPU) is the input/output of a computer system, carrying out the instructions of a computer program to operate and perform correctly. There are two components that make this up: an arithmetic logic unit that performs arithmetic and logical operations, and the control unit that extracts instructions from a computer’s memory and then decodes and executes them. Sometimes a CPU is made up of multiple PCBs or can be housed on a single chip called a microprocessor.



    ETL Listed

    Thomas Edison founded Electrical Testing Labs (ETL), an organization that has been in business for over 100 years. A product that is ETL listed means that product complies with North American safety standards. ETL is not a replacement for other health and safety standards, it is used to inform customers and retailers that a product is compliant with safety standards, and has been tested and certified by a third-party. The ETL Listed Mark is recognized by mainly the US and Canada.

    8x8; Eight-by-eight

    8x8 is the number of conductors or pins, and the position of each. Pending on how high or low the two numbers are, when installing a network or cable system, personal configuration may be high or low respectively.

    Page top


    In computer networking, encapsulation is the design of communication between the layers of a computer system. Each layer gets the core information about a function executed and the specific details are factored out or hid from higher layers. For example, on the internet you see data displayed on a web page, the top most layer; below that is how the data is transferred from its original IP address, and the internet link between the data and its original origin.


    FAR-25 (Federal Aviation Regulations Part 25)

    This Part contains airworthiness standards for airplanes in the transport category. The majority of airplanes up to 12,500 lb Maximum Takeoff Weight are type certificated in the normal, utility or acrobatic categories so most airplanes certificated to Part 25 have Maximum Takeoff Weights greater than 12,500 lb, although there is no lower weight limit.

    The Boeing 737 and later types, and Airbus A300 series, are well-known airplane types that were certificated to FAR Part 25.

    Most of the Federal Aviation Regulations, including Part 25, commenced on February 1, 1965. Prior to that date, airworthiness standards for airplanes in the transport category were promulgated in Part 4b of the US Civil Air Regulations. The Boeing 707 and 727 are two well-known airplane types that were certificated to CAR Part 4b.

    FMVSS 302 (Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard #302)

    Officially known as 49 CFR 571.302, The Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 302 for Flammability of Interior Materials - Passenger Cars, Multipurpose Passenger Vehicles, Trucks, and Buses is one of the most common automotive materials tests. Founded as a Federal Standard in 1972, it is identical to the Canadian Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (CMVSS) 302 and will occasionally be called out on a specification or part print simply as MVSS 302. FMVSS 302 is a general safety measure which seeks to reduce the likelihood of injury or death that may result from a vehicle fire. This test, as written, involves burning two or more samples of a 356mm x 102mm x thickness (13mm maximum) plaque or section of material and measuring the burn rate in millimeters per minute (mm/min). Ignition is at one end of the sample by exposing it to a Bunsen burner flame for 15 seconds. The burn rate dictates conforming or non-conforming material and a maximum burn rate of 102mm/min is allowed by FMVSS 302, although this criteria may be overridden by an OEM specification or part print detail. The Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) J369 and the International Standards Organization (ISO) 3795 are technically equivalent methods of test to FMVSS 302, however they both require burning five specimens per material


    A flammability rating established by Underwriters laboratories for wires and cables that pass a specially designed vertical flame test. This designation has been replaced by VW-1.




    ISO/IEC 11801

    These are the standards for telecommunication cabling systems suitable for various data communication applications, and mainly for commercial premises consisting of a single building or of multiple buildings such as a campus. This standard was designed primarily for small-office and home-office environments spanning up to 3km, 1km2, with 50-50,000 persons. The standards are as follows for twisted-pair connections:

    • Class A: category 1 cable transmitting up to 100 kHz

    • Class B: category 2 cable transmitting up to 1 MHz

    • Class C: category 3 cable transmitting up to 16 MHz

    • Class D: category 5e cable transmitting up to 100 MHz

    • Class E: category 6 cable transmitting up to 250 MHz

    • Class EA: category 6A cable transmitting up to 500 MHz

    • Class F: transmissions up to 600 MHz

    • Class FA: transmissions up to 1000 MHz

    ISO 9001 standards

    Published by the International organization for Standardization, these standards are designed to inspire quality management among organizations and companies to ensure that they meet the needs of their customers and stakeholders. These management systems follow the eight management principles on which these standards are based, and to be certified by ISO 9001, organizations are required to meet all eight principles. If a product is ISO 9001 certified, it is because they have earned that certification.


















Payment methods
Secure server